Escape the Vape Winners!

Tūhura Otago Museum is delighted to announce the winners of the Escape the Vape! poster competition.

The response to the competition was fantastic. We had over 100 entries from all corners of Aotearoa New Zealand, and the creativity and depth of thought that has gone in was outstanding. As a result, our judges were spoilt for choice and found it really hard to select the final winners. In fact, the quality of the entries was so high that we have decided to award some additional Highly Commended prizes.

The winning posters will be printed and featured as part of Tūhura Otago Museum's Te Mana o Te Hā – Smokefree Science Showcase Te Mana o Te Hā will be a mobile, hands-on, exhibition that presents the facts and science behind smoking and vaping. It will tour schools and communities around the motu from late 2023 and into 2024. We also hope to include all the entries in the showcase on a touchscreen so that all of Aotearoa can enjoy them and vote on their favourites too. 

Thank you to everyone who entered. We hope that you, your whānau, and friends keep on Escaping the Vape!


Dr Craig Grant (Director Visitor Experience & Science Engagement, Tūhura Otago Museum)




Youth Section Winner - Honey Johnson - 15 yo, Bluff

You Don’t Know What Fire You’re Starting

Honey Johnson



Youth Section Highly Commended

Logan Daly - 13 yo, Christchurch

When you’re Smoking Nobody’s Winning

Logan Daly

Louie Laing - 10 yo, Wellington

Escape the Vape

Louise Laing


Youth Section - Special Mentions

Special mention – Creativity

Sam Kennedy - 12 yo, Upper Hutt - Don’t Get Sucked In

Sam Kennedy

Special mentions – Artistic effort

Rebekah Pritchard - 15 yo, Hamilton - Stop Before It’s Too Late

Rebekah Pritchard

Special mentions – Artistic effort

Dulcie Copeland - 14 yo, Tauriko - When the high becomes a low

Dulcie Copeland

Special mentions – Tag line

Mackenzie - 14 yo, Wellington - Where will this train lead?


Effort award – Youngster

Maanvir Singh Chawla - 9 yo, Manukau - Don’t Hide Behind the Vape!

Maanvir Singh Chawla

Effort award – Research

Pheryn - 15 yo, Nelson - Asking for your death


Local Heroes - Youngster

Millie Garside/Sophie Wellington - 11 yo, Dunedin - Escape the Vape for a Break

Millie Garside/Sophie Wellington

Local Heroes - Tag line

Betty Liu - 11 yo, Dunedin - Quitters are Winners

Betty Liu



Open  Section Winner - Danielle Smit - Auckland

Clear the Air

Danielle Smit



Highly Commended

Benjamin Mason, Auckland - Nicoteen

Benjamin Mason

Highly Commended

Bethany Peet, Christchurch - Is Vaping Safe?

Bethany Peet

Special mention – Design

Alex Smith, Auckland - Don’t let the disguise fool you

Alex Smith


Proudly Supported By


Curious Minds

Curious Minds

Curious Minds